Search - School / College / Institute

Manpreet Singh, Dharamvir Singh and Savita Recommended for This Year’s Arjuna Award

National Federation on Thursday recommended three players for this year’s Arjuna Award. Manpreet Singh, who led India’s men’s hockey team at last month’s Commonwealth Games, was among the three recommended players. Another experienced mid-fielder Dharamvir Singh and Indian women’s team goalkeeper Savita have also been recommended for the same. Hockey India said in a statement that they have also recommended Sanggai Lbemhal Chanu and former men’s captain Bharat Chettri for Dhyan Chand Award for lifetime achievement.

Apart from that they have also recommended Coach BD Chauhan for the Dronacharya Award.

Manpreet, captained the Indian team last year and he was also a part of Asia Cup success. With over 200 international caps, Manpreet was a part of the team that participated at the 2012 and 2016 Olympic Games.

Dharamvir was a part of the Indian Team that participated at the 2012 London Olympics and has also represented the country at the 2014 World Cup in the Netherlands.

On the other hand Savita was a part of the team that qualified for the Olympics after 36 years. She was a member of the team that won the Asian Champions Trophy in 2016. Talking about the recommendations, Mohd Mushtaque Ahmad, Secretary General, and Hockey India stated that, “They have proven their worth with significant performances that has helped the Indian team to reach new heights.

By: Divya Thakur



Future Bright Program

Enhance Your Skills With Our Experts

Interactive School Platform