Search - School / College / Institute

International Triathlon Union

The International Triathlon Union (ITU) is the world governing body for the Olympic sport of Triathlon and all related Multi- sport disciplines: Duathlon, Aquathlon and Winter Triathlon. ITU was founded in 1989 at the first ITU Congress in Avignon, France.

The ITU presently has 169 affiliated National Federations around the world. It is headquartered in Lausanne, Switzerland. The ITU is the one of the most influential organisation in the sport of triathlon. It sanctions the ITU World Triathlon Series and the ITU Triathlon World Cup. It also sanctions and organizes official Aquathlon (swim-run), Duathlon (run-bike-run) and Winter triathlon championships. It is the youngest International Federation in the Olympics. The ITU is committed to supporting the development of the sport worldwide through strong relationships with Continental and National Federations. The ITU is structured into 5 continental regions. It is through these continental regions that the national federations i.e. the governing body of triathlon in each country, are affiliated to the ITU. These are namely: Africa: African Triathlon Union (ATU) – 10 national federations; America: Pan American Triathlon Confederation (PATCO) – 36 national federations; Asia: Asian Triathlon Confederation (ASTC) – 22 national federations; Europe: European Triathlon Union (ETU) – 43 national federations; Oceania: Oceania Triathlon Union (OTU) – 8 national federations. World Championship events organised by the ITU are as follows: ITU World Triathlon Series; ITU Triathlon Mixed Relay World Championships; ITU Long Distance Triathlon World Championships; ITU Triathlon World Cup Series; ITU Aquathlon World Championships; ITU Duathlon World Championships; ITU Winter Triathlon World Championships; ITU Cross Triathlon World Championships.

By: Anuja Arora


Future Bright Program

Enhance Your Skills With Our Experts

Interactive School Platform