FIFA World Cup in Russia and Qatar

General News | Jul-26-2020

FIFA World Cup in Russia and Qatar

The bidding stratagem to host the 2018 and 2022 Fifa World Cup tournament began in January 2009. The national associations had time until February 2 2009 to register. 9 countries placed their bids for the 2018 Fifa World Cup, but Mexico withdrew from the proceedings later and Indonesia’s bid was rejected by the FIFA officials in February 2010 because the Indonesian government failed to submit a letter in support of their bid. Australia, Japan, and the United States moderately withdrew from the 2018 biddings. So, there were ultimately four bids for the 2018 Fifa World Cup of which two were joint bids: England, Russia, Portugal/Spain, and Belgium/Netherlands. Russia won the bid and hosted the 2018 Fifa World Cup.

The FIFA World Cup of 2018 took place between June 14 to July 15 in Russia. It was the 21st FIFA World Cup, an international football tournament contested by national football teams that are held once in four years. All the matches were played in 12 stadiums across 11 cities. 32 teams from 5 confederations played in this World Cup. France were champions of this World Cup and Croatia were the runner-up. A total of 64 matches were played in the World Cup with an audience of approx 47,300 per match. Harry Kane was the top goalscorer with 6 goals in a single match and Thibaut Courtois was awarded as the best goalkeeper. Iceland and Panama made their debut at the World Cup. In the finals, France played against Croatia on 15 July at Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow. France won the match by the score of 4-2 and claimed their second World Cup. The Croatian player Luka Modrić was voted the best player of the tournament and won the Golden Ball award. 

In the bidding process of becoming the host of the 2022 Fifa World Cup, there were five bids for the following World Cup: United States, Australia, Japan, Qatar, and South Korea. The Fifa Executive Committee assembled in Zürich on 2nd December 2010 to vote for the selection of the host of the World Cup. The decision to host the World Cup in Qatar was classified as having “high operational risk”, which gave rise to criticism from media commentators. It has been censured as many to be part of the Fifa corruption scandals. Qatar finally got 14 votes out of 20 executives and became the smallest nation by area to ever host a Fifa World Cup. On 12th April 2018, CONMEBOL requested FIFA to expand the team count to 48 from 32. However, the FIFA congress rejected the request and there will be 32 teams playing in Qatar Fifa World Cup from 5 or 6 confederations. The World Cup 2022 will be conducted in only 8 venues in 5 cities.

By: Hardik Pandey

Class 10

DAV Public School