10 Semi-finalists Are Announced For Men’s College Basketball Player of the Year in Naismith Trophy

Editorials News | Mar-09-2019

 10 Semi-finalists Are Announced For Men’s College Basketball Player of the Year in Naismith Trophy

Naismith trophy is a popular tournament of the United States of America based on the game of basketball among the college games played by both girls and boys.

The four players out of the ten semi-finalists are looking forward to win the first ever Citizen Naismith Trophy for their respective schools and set a record of six juniors that are selected by the Atlanta Tipoff Club which has recently announced the 10 semi-finalists competing for honor of the Men’s Player of the Year at college level. The names of the players in the category are Juniors Carsen Edwards of Purdue University, Markus Howard of Marquette University, RuiHachimura of Gonzaga University, Dedric Lawson of University of Kansas, Cassius Winston of Michigan State University and Grant Williams of University of Tennessee are looking forward to follow the footsteps of Villanova star player junior Jalen Brunson, who had previously won the 50th Citizen Naismith Trophy. Three of the abovementioned juniors named Hachimura, Winston and Williams will be the first from their respective schools to be honoured for the Men’s Player of the Year award. Also Sophomore JaMorant a decent player would be the first from his institution, from Murray State, to win the Men’s Player of the Year Citizen Naismith Trophy for his institution. While those who will be second comprises of Fellow sophomore PJ Washington from the University of Kentucky, who will be following Anthony Davis, he won the award for the University of Kentucky as a freshman in 2012. The other players who are also in search of the second respective win for their schools are Juniors Edwards and Howard following the previous players named Purdue’s Glenn Robinson in 1994 and Marquette’s Butch Lee in 1978. Lawson is the one who will be third from his school to compete for the honor and would join fellow Jayhawk winners Danny Manning (1988) and Frank Mason III (2017). Whereas, Duke, is represented by both fresh young players on the list named R.J. Barrett, who won the Jersey Mike’s High School Naismith Trophy in 2018 and the other is Zion Williamson who is looking forward to claim its eight Citizen Naismith Trophy.


By: AnujaArora

Content: https://www.ncaa.com/news/basketball-men/2019-03-05/naismith-trophy-announces-10-semifinalists-player-year

Upcoming Webinars

View All