Awards in Sports

General News | Nov-02-2020

Awards in Sports

Sports awards in India are given by the Sports Ministry of India to honor the players who have performed exceptionally in their field of the game. It is done as such to upgrade the player's soul and perceive their accomplishments. The awards are yearly introduced on the National Sports Day of India which is praised on 29 August, the birthday of amazing hockey star Dhyan Chand. The President of India parts with the awards on this day at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

These remarkable awards are:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: This is India's most noteworthy wearing honor. It is given to the best sportsperson over all the game trains that year. The words "Khel Ratna" in a real sense mean "Sports Gem". The award is named after the late Rajiv Gandhi, the previous Prime Minister of India.


Arjuna Award: The Arjuna Award was initiated in 1961. It is given to the best sportsperson in each game each year. It is named after Arjuna, the renowned toxophilite in the epic Mahabharata.


Dronacharya Award: Instituted in 1985, it is an award introduced for greatness in sports training. It is named after Dronacharya, Guru of Arjuna, in the epic Mahabharata.


Tenzing Norgay Adventure Award: Instituted in 1993, this award is given to people dominating in experience exercises ashore, ocean, and air. It is named after Tenzing Norgay, one of the initial two people to arrive at the culmination of Mount Everest in 1953 alongside Edmund Hillary.


Dhyan Chand Award: Instituted in 2002, this is India's most noteworthy award for lifetime accomplishment in sports and games. The award is named after the unbelievable Indian hockey player Dhyan Chand. He won three back to back Olympic gold decorations for Indian groups in 1928, 1932 and 1936 and was awarded the Padma Bhushan in 1956.


Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Award: This moving prize is given for the best presentation in sports among the Universities in the nation. It is named after the primary Education Minister of India, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad. It was organized in 1956-57.


The Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar: This is another award established in 2009. It is introduced to perceive the commitment made to sports by substances other than sportspersons and mentors.


The trophies of the National Sports Awards have gone through a plan change this year to give them another look. The re-planned statuettes are made of bronze fastened on a midnight wooden base. The statuettes have been cleaned to give them an antique hope to feature the age of the characters that are tried to be portrayed.


The prize for Arjuna award shows the Pandav (Arjuna) focusing on a fish while taking a gander at its appearance in the water, Dronacharya shows the master controlling his understudy's point. Dhyan Chand award is a statuette of Major Dhyan Chand, the hockey symbol. Additionally, the statuette for Adventure Award is planned subsequent to Tenzing Norgay, the most renowned hikers ever. The decoration given to Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardees has additionally been updated. The Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar award is planned as a light with a bronze and silver base.


National Sports Awards 2020: The Government of India declared the National Sports Awards 2020 on 22 August. For the Arjuna Award, 27 sportspersons have been chosen, for the current year and five names for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award which is the nation's most noteworthy brandishing honor. On National Sports Day that is 29 August 2020, the awardees will get their awards from President Ram Nath Kovind at a uniquely sorted out capacity from Rashtrapati Bhawan through virtual mode.