Different Awards in Sports

General News | Dec-09-2020

Different Awards in Sports

Everyone whether a kid or an adult needs to be honored or complemented in some or the other way for the thing he or she does. It is very important to stay happy and motivated. So, similarly, sportspersons are also honored for their excellent performance. But first, let’s know a few things about sports.

A physical activity in which people compete with each other is called sport. Examples of these sports are cricket, badminton, tennis, basketball, volleyball, hockey, etc. Games like the Olympics and T20 are also held so that people worldwide can compete with each other for the sake of winning and competing.

So, let’s know about some different awards in sports.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: Named after Rajiv Gandhi who was once Indian prime minister, this award is also known as the highest sporting honor of the Republic of India. It is given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

Arjuna Award: Also given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India this award is giving for national sports to motivate the sportsperson for his or her outstanding performance in sports. It is actually a bronze statue of Arjuna with a cash prize.

Dronacharya Award: It is an award for coaches named after Dronacharya from Mahabharata. It was first awarded in 1985 to recognize the marvelous performance of coaches.

Dhyan Chand Award: One of the lifetime sporting honor given to sportspersons, this award was first awarded in 2002. It was named after hockey player Major Dhyan Chand. This year it was awarded to Ajit Singh.

At last, it is always better to honor and appreciate somebody for his or her efforts.

Toshani Mehra

Delhi Public School, Greater Noida