Search - School / College / Institute

Grand Slam (tennis): the Most Prestigious Competitions in Tennis

Tennis is a sport of racket that can be played individually as singles or between two teams of two players each as doubles. Each player tries to play the ball in such a way that the opponent is not able to play a good return.

Grand Slam (tennis) is also a form of tennis that is also known as “majors.” There are only four tournaments that are called majors namely: Australian Open, Roland Garros, Wimbledon and US Open - are the most prestigious individual competitions in tennis. The Australian Open is organized in mid-January. The French Open is played in May and June of every year. Wimbledon tournament is played in the month of July, and the US Open in August and September of every year. Each tournament is played over a period of two weeks of its season. Among all Grand Slam tournaments Wimbledon is the oldest that was founded in 1877 and was followed by the US in 1881. After that the French open tennis tournament started in 1891 and the Australian open in 1905. The ITF is closely associated with each grand slam tournament; however, its presence on the Grand Slam Board, is only for providing administrative, officiating and media support. Martina Navratilova, Pete Sampras, Serena Williams, Andre Agassi, Roger Federer, Leander Paes and Martina Hingis are some of the renowned players of Grand Slam tennis. There are Men's singles; Women's singles, Men's doubles, Women's doubles, Mixed doubles, Men's and Women’s wheelchair singles, and wheelchair doubles are the main tournaments of majors.

By: Anita Aishvarya



Future Bright Program

Enhance Your Skills With Our Experts

Interactive School Platform