Search - School / College / Tutor / Institute
Keep me logged in

The Six Stages Of Development Of A Child

A Child’s development Physically, mentally and emotionally goes through various stages in early ages of birth. Although different authorities stress a different number of developmental stages, According to How Kids Develop, child development refers to a child's ability to learn and master skills called milestones as she gets older. A milestone in child development is a skill that a child learns at a specific stage of development. The six stages of development in a child are:

  1. Newborn Development: From the time of birth to one month, the child exhibits movements that are automatic in response to external stimuli. A newborn is able to see objects that are close to his eyes such as his parents' faces, recognize certain smells, move his head from side to side, smile and cries to indicate his needs.
  2. Infant Development: From one and 12 months a child displays various new development by the completion of a child is able to sit without support, respond to its name, can crawl, stand without support and also pickup objects.
  3. Toddler development:  Children between this age display ritualistic behavior like bedtime routine, they can walk without help, climb staircase, jump in places, draw circles and use short sentences.
  4. Preschooler Development: This is the age between three and five years. This stage of child development is characterized by increased refinement of fine motor skills. During the stage of Preschool the child can throw a ball, skip, hop, care of toiletings and can dress himself.
  5. School-age Development: This stage is between six and twelve years old. At this stage child is more capable, independent and responsible. The school-age child has greater motor skills and begins to develop secondary sexual characteristics. Peer relationships become important here and are typically with members of the same sex.
  6. Adolescent Development: During the adolescent years, physical, mental, cognitive and sexual changes occur. Girls are physically mature while boys might still be maturing. Teenagers develop their identity and opinions. They have concerns about their looks. Eating disorders may occur at this time. Adolescents develop interest in members of the opposite sex and spend more time with their friends and less time with their parents.

By: Shruti Anand


Future Bright Program

Interactive School Platform