Search - School / College / Institute

RBI Slaps Rs.27 Crore Penalty on 19 Public & Private Sector Banks

In a statement issued on 27th Jul’16, the RBI said it has imposed monetary penalty of Rs.27 crore on 13 banks for "violation of regulatory directions/instructions/guidelines, among other things, on Know Your Customer (KYC) norms".
The banks falling under this penalty are Bank of Baroda (Rs 5 crore), Punjab National Bank (Rs 3 crore), Syndicate Bank (Rs 3 crore), UCO Bank (Rs 2 crore), HDFC Bank (Rs 2 crore), Allahabad Bank (Rs 2 crore), Canara Bank (Rs 2 crore), IndusInd Bank (Rs 2crore), SBBJ (Rs 2 crore), Bank of India (Rs 1 crore), Corporation Bank (Rs 1 crore), RBL Bank (Rs 1 crore) and SBM (Rs 1 crore).
The RBI further said that eight other banks, Axis Bank, Federal Bank, ICICI Bank, Kotak Mahindra Bank, OBC, Standard Chartered Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India, have been "advised to put in place appropriate measures and review them from time to time to ensure strict compliance with KYC requirements and Foreign Exchange Management Act (FEMA) provisions on an ongoing basis".
"In respect of eight other banks, based on written and oral submissions, it was decided to advise them to put in place appropriate measures and review the same from time to time to ensure strict adherence to KYC/AML requirements as well as FEMA provisions on an ongoing basis," the RBI said.
RBI, however, added that "this action" is based on deficiencies in regulatory compliance and "is not intended to pronounce upon the validity of any transaction or agreement entered into by the bank and its customers".

For more:

Read More