All About FIBA

Editorials News | Sep-03-2019

All About FIBA

The FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 will forecast on 31st August in China this summer. The global basketball rivalry will comprise a recordthirty-two participating countries, which became eligible during tournaments since last two years.

This will be the eighteenth edition of the FIBA Basketball World Cup and it is the first time it has ever been held in China. The tournaments will take place in eight different cities -- Beijing, Wuhan, Dongguan, Shanghai, Foshan, Shenzhen, Nanjing, and Guangzhou -- across five regions. Inall, there will be ninety-two games played in just sixteen days.

The U.S. roster that is filled with NBA players will not be the only one with remarkable NBA talent. There are almost 50 NBA players who are ready to represent their respective countries this summer, from Greece (Giannis Antetokounmpo) to France (Rudy Gobert) to Serbia (Nikola Jokic).

International Stars who are set to Shine at FIBA World Cup

Its Schedule will be as follows:

Its First Round i.e. Group Phase will be from Aug. 31 to Sept. 5

Its Second Round i.e. Group Phase will be from Sept. 6 to Sept. 9

Its Quarter finals will be from Sept. 10 to Sept. 11

Its Semi finals will be on Sept.13

and the Final will be on Sept.15

Absolute Schedule Information

Competition System

Since 32 countries qualified to playing the grand 2019, FIBA Basketball World Cup by qualifying tournaments that were played in 2017. Among those thirty-two countries 12 are from Europe, 5 countries are from Africa, 7 from the Americas, and 8 are from Oceania and Asia.

The thirty two countries that are certified to compete were put down in eight groups at the time of the Official Draw that was held in mid-March. These groups will be competing against each other during the 1st round of theGroup Phase, which highlights 48 games in total (3 games per team, 6 games per group).

These are the eight groups for thefirst round of the World Cup:

Group A constitutes Coted’Ivoire, Poland, Venezuela and China

Group B constitutes Russia,Argentina, Korea and Nigeria

Group C constitutes Spain,Iran, Puerto Rico, Tunisia

Group D constitutes Angola,Philippines, Italy and Serbia

Group E constitutes Turkey,Czech Republic, USA and Japan

Group F constitutes Greece, NewZealand, Brazil and Montenegro

Group G constitutes Dominican Republic, France, Germany and Jordan

Group H constitutes Canada, Senegal, Lithuania and Australia

By: Prerana Sharma


Upcoming Webinars

View All