Amazing Facts Of Starfish

Editorials News | Sep-10-2019

Amazing Facts Of Starfish

One of the most beautiful marine animals is starfish or sea stars, which is found in a variety of colors, shapes, and sizes. All starfish simulate to stars, and though the most common have only five arms, some of these animals can grow up to 40 arms. The amazing sea beauties, group of animals known as echinoderms. They can recreate lost limbs, and they can devour large loot using their unusual stomachs.
Sea Stars Are Not Fish
Despite the fact sea stars live underwater and are commonly called "starfish," they are not true fish. They do not have chops, scales, or vane like fish do.
Sea stars also move quite adversely from fish. While fish impel themselves with their tails, sea stars have tiny tube feet to help them move along.
Because they are not confidential as fish, scientists elect to call starfish as a "sea stars."
Sea Stars Are Echinoderms
Sea stars belong to the phylum Echinodermata. That means they are related to sand dollars, sea urchins, sea cucumbers, and sea lilies. Overall, this phylum contains over 6,000 species.
There Are Thousands of Sea Star Species
There are about 2,000 species of sea stars. Some live in the intertidal zone, while others live in the deep water of the ocean.
Not All Sea Stars Have Five Arms
While many people are most recognizable with the five-armed species of sea stars, not all sea stars have just five arms. Some species have many more arms likewise the sun star, which can have up to 40 arms.
Sea Stars Can Exhilarate Arms
Surprisingly sea stars can regenerate lost arms, which is useful if the sea star is get injured by a carnivore.
Sea stars house most of their vital organs in their arms. This means that some species can even regenerate an entirely new sea star from just one arm and a portion of the star's central disc.
It won't happen too quickly, though. It takes about a year for an arm to grow back.

By – Tripti Varun
Content -

Upcoming Webinars

View All