What India Really Is?

India is a country of rich culture and diversity. There are currently 28 states in India and 8 Union Territories. Each state has its own and unique culture. There are different types of dance forms, clothing, language, food, and living styles found in various states of India.

There are 8 major forms of classical dance in India like Kathak is a form of dance in Uttar Pradesh, Bharatanatyam in Tamil Nadu, etc. South Indian people eat food like Idli, Dosa, etc. These people are also dedicated to eating on banana leaves. The North Indian people also eat different food like Chhole Bhature. People of Rajasthan like to eat Dal Bati Churma whereas the people living in the area of Punjab love to eat stuffed parathas. Clothing also has a variation all over India. Men in Tamil Nadu and Kerala wear dhoti and shirt while women wear a traditional sari. The women in west India wear Lehenga Choli while the men wear Kurta and Pajama. India has even developed national parks for animals like The Jim Corbett National Park in Uttarakhand. The animals are given proper care, food, shelter, and suitable living conditions. The Bird Sanctuaries are developed for the birds like The Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary in Rajasthan. India has a democratic government that treats all people equally and each one has a right to vote in elections. India has several languages spoken in different parts of the country but Hindi is known as the Mother Tongue of India and there are 22 languages spoken in India officially like Hindi, Punjabi, etc. Including all this, India also has different types of forests like Tropical Rain Forests (Sundarban Rain Forest) and Deciduous Forests. There are different climatic conditions too. Through which the location of different crops is situated. There are different types of farming like terrace farming on hills. Though there are many variations in different parts of the country, still India lives as a big family.

By: Arul Kashyap

School: Delhi Public School, GBN

Class: 7th

Related News